The latest news in Eastern Visayas region


more news...

Food producers and processors enrich Samar Day celebration

Leyte SP sets another consultative meeting with mining companies

Urban poor dwellers get attention from Urban HEART project

DOH conducts climate change and health forum in Eastern Visayas

Samar Day celebration captures a week of fun, freebies and festivities

The sturdy Rose and the Cocaine bricks

Eastern Visayas police nabs wanted person; raids illegal gambling activities







Leyte councilors give PCL prexy fresh mandate

By Philippine Information Agency (PIA 8)
August 6, 2010

TACLOBAN CITY    Municipal councilors from the various municipalities of the province of Leyte gave a fresh mandate to current PCL Leyte president Hon. Wilson S. Uy of Palo, Leyte.

In a general assembly held at the Leyte National High School Gym on August 4, the Philippine Councilors League Leyte Chapter gave an overwhelming vote of confidence to Honorable Uy who is on his first term as Councilor of the municipality of Palo. During his previous term, Honorable Uy was a member of the Sangguniang Panglungsod of Tacloban.

In the same election, Councilor Francis Realino of Abuyog was elected as vice president. Elected as Secretary General is Luis Marlon Torres of Burauen, while elected as treasurer is Teofilo Cabello of Jaro. Honorable Erlindo Laplana of Baybay was elected as auditor; PRO is Councilor Mesias P. Arevalo of Palompon; and business manager is Alang-Alang Councilor Jill Sydiongco.

The Board of Directors is composed of Honorable Cheeryl Enrica Esperas of San Miguel and Honorable Ernesto Varona of Tanauan, for the first district; Honorables Jade Agullo of Dulag and Jul Co of La Paz for the second district; Honorable Carlo Pacito Villarino of San Isidro for the third district; Honorable Vincent Rey Taganas of Kananga for the fourth district; and Honorables Mar Aralan and Roseller Yan for the fifth district.

The Philippine Councilors League is an empowered foundation of governance that serves as catalyst towards progress of people within a sustainable environment for a strong and united Philippines.

The PCL obtained its official status as a local government association when it was accredited by the then Department of Local Government on September 3, 1990, and subsequently registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission on September 17, 1990.

The PCL was established primarily to carry out its objectives which include among others: to establish a strategic and accessible forum for giving life, meaning and substance to the concepts of decentralization and local autonomy, crystallizing and expressing ideas of primordial concern to the PCL, and strengthening public-private sector relations towards local development.