The latest news in Eastern Visayas region


more news...

Borongan eyes sisterhood contract with Parañaque

Paranas LGU awards P20 thousand to rebel returnees

Mining exploration permits should remain within bounds, says Leyte guv

DILG calls for SK abolition, election of youth representative during barangay polls on Oct. 25

Major facilities on the rise at the Government Center

Lady solon says: there is no constitutional prohibition for divorce law

Samar governor to pursue concreting of Paranas-San Jose de Buan road

DILG bans names, photos on firetrucks, police vehicles







Tabaquero named as new AFP NCR Command chief

By Philippine Information Agency (PIA 8)
August 18, 2010

TACLOBAN CITY  –  Major General Arthur Tabaquero, the commanding officer of the 8th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army based at Camp Lukban, Catbalogan, Samar, is now the new AFP-National Capital Region Command chief.

MGen. Arthur Tabaquero

This after President Benigno S. Aquino III has approved the revamp in the military hierarchy.

The orders were issued by the President, AFP Commander-in-Chief, based on the recommendation by the Board of Generals (BoG) through the Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin, the AFP said.

President Aquino has appointed new officers in the Armed Forces of the Philippines in line with the government's goal of having the "best players placed in the frontlines."

The changes in the military hierarchy will allow the AFP to cope with changes in the security environment, maintain momentum in its operations against security threats, and accomplish other goals, the military said.

AFP chief of staff Lt. Gen. Ricardo David said the reshuffled underwent a detailed process, from the nominations from the Board of Senior Officers from each of the major services, to the AFP BoG, then to the Office of the President through the Secretary of National Defense.

Major General Tabaquero replaces Rear Admiral Feliciano Angue who will now be commander of the Naval Forces Western Mindanao.

Major General Tabaquero will be replaced by Maj. Gen. Mario Chan is designated as commander of the Philippine Army’s 8th Infantry Division (8ID).

Replacing Major General Chan as 4th ID Commander is Maj. Gen Victor Felix, the outgoing Deputy Chief of Staff for Civil Military Operations, who will in turn be replaced by Brig. Gen. Nonato Alfredo Peralta Jr.

As part of the revamp, outgoing Philippine Air Force (PAF) Vice Commander Maj. Gen. Eduardo Oban Jr. has been designated as AFP Deputy Chief of Staff. Replacing him as PAF Vice-Commander is Maj. Gen. Artemio Orozco, the outgoing commander of PAF 1st Air Division.

Rear Adm. Mario Catacutan is designated AFP Inspector General. Taking his post as Deputy Chief of Staff for Logistics is Commodore Teddy Pan, the outgoing Deputy Commander of the Western Command. Maj. Gen. Jovencio Magalso, the outgoing AFP Inspector General, is appointed as Deputy Chief of Staff for Reservist and Retiree Affairs.

The new Commander of the Naval Forces Northern Luzon is Commodore Edgar Abogado, the outgoing Commander of the PN Naval Logistics Center, while Commodore Jose Luis Alano, the outgoing Commander of the Service Force of the Philippine Fleet is designated as the New Chief of Naval Staff.

Philippine Marine Corps Commandant Maj. Gen. Juancho Sabban is designated as commander of the Western Command (WesCom) and will be succeeded by Brig. Gen. Rustico Guerrero.

Rear Adm. Roberto Estioko has been appointed as full-time Philippine Navy Vice-Commander. Army Col. Benito Antonio De Leon, previously the Senior Military Assistant to the Secretary of National Defense, is designated as chief of the AFP Command Center.