The latest news in Eastern Visayas region

Follow samarnews on Twitter

more news...

PNP SCOUT to beef up campaign against local terrorist movement in Eastern Visayas

Honor your parents’ struggle vs. Martial Law through stopping all human rights violations

8ID joins OPPAP in PAMANA Project inauguration in Northern Samar

PRO8 drug busts nab 6 pushers, yield drugs, guns

Philippine UPR Watch to the Philippine Government: Spreading Lies at the United Nations

CAFGU strikes anew, indigenous leader shot and tortured to death – Karapatan

Greenpeace takes action against a Laguna Lake polluter

Injustice persists from martial law to Noynoy Aquino








LP widens memberships in Leyte’s fifth district

By AHLETTE C. REYES / Provincial Media Relations Center
September 22, 2012

TACLOBAN CITY  –  The Liberal Party widens its membership in the province of Leyte as it swore in new members in the province’s fifth district with incumbent local officials and new political hopefuls.

Leyte Governor Carlos Jericho Petilla, himself a new member of the Liberal Party, administered the oath taking of new members from the eight towns and one city in the fifth district in a simple oath taking ceremony in Baybay City.

Abuyog Mayor Octavio Traya, Bato Mayor Nathaniel Gertos, Hindang Mayor Elpidio Cabal, Jr., Inopacan Mayor Silvestre Lumarda, Javier Mayor Sandy Javier, Matalom Mayor Eric Pajulio and Baybay City Mayor Carmen Cari were among the local chief executives who took their formal oath as new members of the party.

Mahaplag town, whose incumbent Mayor Ronaldo Lleve is now on its third term, took his wife Daisy to be LP’s new member and the party’s standard bearer for the mayoralty post of the town.

The town of Hilongos, meanwhile, swore in another member to be its official candidate under the LP ticket.

The recruitment of LP members will continue and that the mayors who took their oaths will be the LP’s official candidates in their respective towns and cities in the coming 2013 elections.

Vice-mayors and councilors also took their oath as new members.

The Liberal Party has continuously conducted ‘Basic Orientation Seminar on Liberal Democracy’ for new members and the mass oath-taking is part of the party’s goal to rebuild the LP and make it the most dominant political party in the country.

New members are required to attend a basic orientation on the party ideology before they could become full members as new Liberals.

Gov. Petilla urged new members to believe in and support the cause of the party. The party’s battlecry is “Sa daang matuwid, asenso’y walang patid”.

The governor also added that the continuation of the reform agenda is also one of the important reason why the LP is strengthening itself from the ground up.

The second oldest political party, LP has a long lineage of icons in Philippine politics. Among them are Senate President Jovito Salonga and the late Senator Benigno "Ninoy" Aquino Jr and Interior Secretary Jesse Robredo.

LP also produced 4 presidents: Manuel Roxas (1946), Elpidio Quirino (1949), Diosdado Macapagal (1961), and Benigno Aquino III (2010).