The latest news in Eastern Visayas region

Follow samarnews on Twitter

more news...

Governor Tan bares accomplishments on Samar Day

PRO 8 all out campaign against all illegal activities

VP Binay to OFWs: Register for 2013 polls

SSS members told to register online, monitor accounts

Preventing the occurrence of another Guinsaugon landslide

Biometrics for 4Ps beneficiaries to pilot in Leyte town

Abandoned Iloilo City Housing Project: Lost battle vs. corruption?

East Visayas holds first-ever conference of professionals








Miss Pagsanghan bags “Mutya han Samar 2012” title

mutya han samar 2012
Mutya han Samar 2012 winner Miss Pagsanghan (center) with (L-R) Vice-governor Jimboy Tan, Governor Sharee Ann Tan, Miss Mutya han Samar 2011 and BM Von Zosa.

August 13, 2012

CATBALOGAN CITY, Samar  –  Mutya han Samar 2012 candidate from Pagsanghan Abigail Messenger wowed the audience when she answered the question on tourism.

The question posed, ”If you would have a visitor coming from the other planets, how would you welcome them?”

She glibly answered that she will show hospitality and she will tour them to her place in Pagsanghan first and to the other beautiful places in Samar.

The answer, which resulted to an applause by the audience contributed to her points to get the Mutya han Samar title contested by 20 candidates from all over Samar province at the Samar Gymnasium, Catbalogan City on Thursday night, August 9, 2012.

Messenger is a 19-year old college graduate with a Bachelors Degree in Performing Arts, she also got three minor awards, Miss Gatorade, Miss Professionalism, and Miss PhilHealth.

All together her gorgeousness, posture, flawless white skin and a 5’5” height added to make her a stand-out beauty and earned her the title which also gave her P50,000 in cash.

“It is a true honor to be crowned as Mutya han Samar, and I will do my very best to promote the tourist spots in Samar and let other people see the beauty of the place,” the newly crowned Ms. Samar said in an interview with PIA.

Other winners were 1st runner up Miss Tagapul-an Ma. Cassandra Y. Yu who got P25,000.00 in cash; 2nd runner-up was Miss Pinabacdao Cyril Varela with P20,000 cash prize; 3rd runner-up Miss Calbiga Menchie Nacario and 4th runner-up Miss Tarangnan Margarita Francesca Cruz who was awarded P10,000 in cash prize.

Other special awards were given to: Miss Gandara Glenna Marie Avenido as Miss Congeniality; Miss Calbayog Reina Isabel Delgado as Miss Eloquence; Best in Casual Wear was awarded to Miss Daram Diane Jean Gallardo; Miss Pinabacdao Cyril Varela as in Best Festival Costume: Miss Tarangnan Maragarita Farncesca Cruz was awarded as the Best in Swimsuit and in Evening Gown; and the Miss Photogenic and Charming Face was given to Miss Tagapul-an Maria Cassandra Yu.

The pageant which was one of the highlights of Samar Day was hosted by artist and matinee idol, Victor Basa.