The latest news in Eastern Visayas region
more news...

Leyte IDOL Season 5 grand winner named, received standing ovation from judges, crowd

Mamanwa tribe yearn inclusion in government’s 4Ps

PGMA visits San Jose De Buan, Samar inaugurates KBP projects

PGMA calls for immediate repair, improvement of San Jose de Buan road

4Ps in Samar’s frontier town thrilled by PGMA’s letter

8ID gains two (2) fire arms killing one NPA

BIR closes several business establishments in EV under Oplan Kandado







Maasin City receives green banner award in nutrition

By R. G. CADAVOS (PIA Southern Leyte)
March 23, 2010

MAASIN CITY, Southern Leyte  –  The City of Maasin has received a Green Banner Award in the field of Nutrition, March 12 in Tacloban City through the National Nutrition Council Regional Office 8 headed by Nutrition Program Coordinator Carina Z. Santiago.

In a monthly newsletter, the City of Maasin reported that the City Nutrition Council has showed exemplary practices and outstanding performance in implementing its nutrition programs with the able leadership of City Mayor Maloney Samaco as the council chairman.

In an acceptance speech delivered by City Executive Assistant Bethany Gado, in behalf of Mayor Samaco, he stressed that ‘the award received was an indication that the city implemented well the nutrition program and this is a challenge for the city government to continuously support the nutrition programs.”

The award were presented by Department of Health Regional Director Edgardo Gonzaga, Department of Agriculture RD Leo Caneda, National Food Authority Director Ben Marta and Ms. Carina Santiago.

On the other hand, Outstanding Barangay was also awarded to Barangay Captain Brigida Blasabas of Brgy Acasia, Maasin City who was chosen as the best barangay implementer in nutrition programs throughout the region. While Cecilia Mitra, was chosen as the Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholar, still from the same barangay.

Along with Gado during the awarding ceremony were Maasin City Rural Health Physicians Dr. Francisllisa Tan, Dr. Teodulo Salas, Dr. Jocelyn Orito and City Social Welfare and Development Officer Febe Maria Sta. Cruz, City Nutritionist Jasmin Genegobis, Midwife Angelita Orais, Public Health Nurse Anachita Cabatingan and Medical Technologist Jocelyn Jamo.